Ernie Barnes

8 May

barnes

 

I’m on vacation, so I won’t do a full review.  However, Ernie Barnes is a rarity–a professional football player who went on to be a successful painting.  The physicality of his work makes me wish that more athletes would pick up a brush.

“One day on the playing field, I looked up and the sun was breaking through the clouds, hitting the unmuddied areas on the uniforms, and I said, ‘that’s beautiful!’ I knew then that it was all over being a player. I was more interested in art. So I traded my cleats for canvas, my bruises for brushes, and put all the violence and power I had felt on the field into my paintings.”  Ernie Barnes.

Leave a Reply

