Action and Mindfulness

25 Nov

Hello everyone!  Today I’m writing about action and mindfulness.  I am a big practitioner of mindfulness, it really does me a lot of good.  For of you that don’t know about it, it’s a meditative technique of watching and seeing and relinquishing control.  To be clear, I’m not telling anybody what they should be doing, and am not trying to spread mindfulness in any way.  It works for me.

It works for me because my ego is very sticky–if there’s an event in the future I start thinking about that, and then there’s the event, and then there’s after where I rehash it all.  Now, there’s productive ways to use that system for sure, but when preparation includes, dread, fret, worry and other things like that, after I’ve done all can really do, then it isn’t productive–it’s just taking away from my now time, which is right there in front of me to enjoy.  Rehashing is even worse, because outside of a few lessons I might learn, there’s nothing I can do to change the past.

That’s where mindfulness comes in, it’s simply paying attention to my thoughts and how I feel, and to be completely in the moment–whether that moment is good or bad doesn’t matter, it’s what you’ve got.  In general, mindfulness makes my life a lot more manageable, and my focus changes from goals to just day to day existence.

However, the little puzzle I have is where action connects to mindfulness.  Mindfulness is all about acceptance–accepting the situation I am in, accepting the people around me as they are, recognizing all those desires to change things, and admitting that most of those things I would change are in my control.  However, what about those things I can control?  What to do then?

In a way, I feel like my mindfulness practice is sort of like someone who’s comfortable driving a car as long as it’s only going straight–no turns and for heaven’s sake no  parallel parking.  I do have the option of leaving mindfulness to the side when making a change, but it’s been such a good friend to me (or I’ve been such a good friend to me, mindfulness also has to do with becoming friends with yourself) I want to find a different way.

The problem is for me, that it’s so easy to get caught up into things and to lose myself with action and then I get back into the fretting, obsessing, planning thing I would wish to avoid.  Another metaphor is someone who responds to nausea by sitting extremely still, not moving at all.   Hmmm–what I’m going to do is practice with small actions, little things, and work up to the big one (I’m really unhappy with my job right now, I’m wanting to change it–I’m not going too far into that, because the same old story is everywhere and mine is not that different.)

 

Leave a Reply

