Good Questions

23 Jul

I have found that some questions we need to ask and answer over and over again, once is not enough.  The questions include:

Who am I?

Where do I fit in?

What will I do when I grow up?

What kind of life do I want to have?

Why am I here?

What does life mean?

These questions come back over and over again (and I’m sure there are many others) no matter who you are, what you believe, your personality, job, whatever.  Some people shoo these thoughts away by the latest light entertainment, or grab handy pre-fab “answers” to these questions.

I don’t want to do those things.  I don’t want you to do those things either.  Sure we can do some anxiety quelling measure, but besides the fact that anxiety quelling often means being involved in unhealthy things, we’re missing out when we don’t meditate on these questions.  And they don’t go away, sure we might have some that fade while others come center stage, but there’s always a question or two waiting, like a friendly puppy to be picked up and played with.

These questions might create some anxiety, but they aren’t harmful, believe me!  They’re there because they are what being human is about.

Also, these questions don’t have simple answers.  The answers are silly, broad, jumbled, flash in the dark answers, answers that don’t have words to them yet but sensations, feelings, experience.

Follow these questions and the world will be a great place for you.  Answer them a thousand times if you must, each time a little bit differently, turn them around in your head like a pebble, feel their perambulations and sharp corners, hold their weight in your hand.

And you will know joy.  

Leave a Reply

