Keyholes

30 May

I miss the old style door with the big keyhole underneath.  Well, that’s not quite correct, because I never was in a home with such things, but I miss them nonetheless.  Why would people keep keys in their doors?  Was it to keep from spying?  I never quite understood that.

Once when I was little I made windchimes out of a bunch of old skeleton keys my parents had gotten from an auction.  (Oh yes, they loved auctions for awhile–don’t ask me why, it was a thing.)   They were very nice for a bit, but then they got all rusted and gross.  I’m wondering if you could do them today anymore with the little aluminum keys people have now–I think they would just kind of clunk rather than chime, but to each their own music I suppose.   

Leave a Reply

