Procrastination

28 Mar

Ah yes, procrastination–goodness knows how much of life is waiting for something else to happen (probably most of it.) What do I do to procrastinate?

1. Wander the internet going from thing to thing. Once I’m going from thing to thing I am inherently not interested in (funny dog faces, dancing clowns, whatever) I KNOW I’m in the middle of a good procrastination jag.

2. Pacing, particularly when I’m worried I tend to wander around doing little half-thought of actions that I forget what I was doing by the end of them.

3. Facebook. GOD that’s a big time waster. Will it really hurt anything if I don’t poke people back?

4. Listen to music. Less of a problem for me now as for teenager me. I could just sit and imagine to music for HOURS!

5. Fidget. I get up. I sit down. I move things around on my desk to this imagined space where everything is just right, as if there was a magic constellation I am trying to make out of my pads of paper and pencils and whatnot on my desk, and once it is in that EXACT RIGHT POSITION, it will glow with the power of 10,000 suns and I will get to work.

2 Responses to “Procrastination”

  1. Shez March 29, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    So let me know how long do we wait for the bolt of light so we can get going? 😉 My desk is a perfect mess and that has not helped. Moving stuff doesn’t work either. Maybe I should take a nap… 😉

    • pewterbreath March 30, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

      Hmmmm—I usually wait until I get grumpy. Once I’m grumpy I know I’ll need to do something or I will annoy myself to death.

Leave a Reply

