A Stranger

7 Mar

Did she know her bra showed through her shirt?  She must, but if she did I can’t imagine why she would have dressed that way.  She had a coral sheer shirt and the kind of bra not meant for public display.  It wasn’t obscene, it was the strictly underwear, maidenform sort of thing.  She also had on flesh colored pants, shoes, and lipstick.  Her hair was a large ball of dark brown, thick and flipping around her shoulders.  She wore a set of (very likely fake) pearls, and had a square black purse with big brass squares on it.

She just sat on the bus stop bench, looking at nothing and chewing her lip.  I wondered, did she have a family?  Was she happy?  What was she thinking?  I could not even imagine what could be going on in her head–all I could see was grocery lists and travel plans, maybe a worry over a slight affair at a job.  I found myself fascinated.  I wished I had said hi, but I don’t know if she would be the sort who’d want that.

2 Responses to “A Stranger”

  1. SL Schildan March 8, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

    Hummm, is that a fair thing to do? Tease us then leave us dangling with more questions than you? 😉

    • pewterbreath March 8, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

      Well, for some reason I think that this was a morning after…of an affair that was more started out of boredom than passion. However, for all I know she was thinking about the upcoming raise in postage stamp prices.

Leave a Reply

